Kibbee Library: Student Resources: Subject Research Guides: Speech & ENG12/24

Email: reference.desk@kbcc.cuny.edu
Call: 718-368-5632
Come to the Reference Desk (main lobby on Library 2nd Floor)
Twitter: @KBCCLibrary
Look for other subject libguides at https://library.kbcc.cuny.edu/guides
Download: this guide as a PDF

Robert J. Kibbee Library
2001 Oriental Blvd.
Brooklyn, NY 11235
P: (718) 368-5632 F: (718) 368-5482

Library locations for books in:	Floor #
Oratory. Elocution, etc. Look for Call #'s beginning with PN4001-4355	7th
Essays Look for Call #'s beginning with PN6141-6145	7th
Communication. Mass Media Look for Call #'s beginning with P87-96	7th
Reference Books The Reference section is in back of the Information Desk	2nd

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Weekly reports with bibliographies covering topics in the news. Useful for exploring pro and con arguments for controversial issues.
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing access to often overlooked perspectives. Coverage goes back to 1990.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
General interest periodicals and news sources going back thirty years. Includes travel guides and National Public Radio programs.
InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Full-text national, international, state, and local newspapers with coverage starting from 1980.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Contains pro and con viewpoint articles for topics of debate with thorough bibliographies for further study, as well as encyclopedia entries, newspaper, magazine, and journal articles, statistics, and interviews.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals covering all academic areas of study. Recommended starting point for research in periodical literature in most fields of study.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text and abstracts from journals covering communications studies, some going back as far a 1915. Strong coverage for broadcasting, language and speech, linguistics, and mass media.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journal articles and reference sources covering a variety of topics. Strong coverage for the sciences, medicine, engineering, and business
Readers' Guide Full Text, Mega Edition This link opens in a new window
Indexing back to 1983 and full text back to 1994 for popular magazines. Includes arts, business, computers, education, entertainment, film and television, gardening, health and medicine, history, home improvement, literature, current events, photography, popular and classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, science, sports and fitness, transportation, travel and more.

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Entries from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works in all subjects. Preferred starting point for online research.

Student Resources: Subject Research Guides