Health & Nutrition Research

Email: reference.desk@kbcc.cuny.edu
Call: 718-368-5632
Come to the Reference Desk (main lobby on Library 2nd Floor)
Twitter: @KBCCLibrary
Look for other subject libguides at https://library.kbcc.cuny.edu/guides
Download: this guide as a PDF

Robert J. Kibbee Library
2001 Oriental Blvd.
Brooklyn, NY 11235
P: (718) 368-5632 F: (718) 368-5482

Recommended Reference Sources

American Dietetic Association Complete Food and Nutrition Guide

Street food around the world: An encyclopedia of food and culture

Understanding food: Principles and preparation

Culinary nutrition: The science and practice of healthy cooking

The Gale encyclopedia of diets : a guide to health and nutrition

Exercise physiology: Nutrition, energy, and human performance

Browse the shelf

Library locations for books in:	Floor #
Personal health and hygiene Look for Call #'s beginning with RA773-788	8th
Nutrition. Foods and food supply Look for Call #'s beginning with TX341-641	8th
Reference Books The Reference section is in back of the Information Desk	2nd

Library locations for books in:

Floor #

Personal health and hygiene

Look for Call #'s beginning with RA773-788

8th

Nutrition. Foods and food supply

Look for Call #'s beginning with TX341-641

8th

Reference Books

The Reference section is in back of the Information Desk

2nd

Search for BOTH books and articles on OneSearch

Not familiar with OneSearch? Watch this video tutorial about how to do research using OneSearch.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals covering all academic areas of study. Recommended starting point for research in periodical literature in most fields of study.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Complete This link opens in a new window
Research database covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Offers access to full text journal articles, books/monographs, Evidence-Based Care sheets, health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, and audiovisuals, some going back to 1937.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Full text sources in medicine, nursing and allied health
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, strong coverage of nursing and allied health. Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide that covers generic drug patient education sheets
Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise This link opens in a new window
Original research, clinical studies and comprehensive reviews on current topics in sports medicine and exercise science. Available from 1969 to 12 months ago.
Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
Leading comprehensive full-text medical journal source.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Full Text information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.

American Journal of Clinical Nutrition This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journal covering nutrition and dietetics. Includes clinical studies in topics such as vitamins, metabolism, diseases, and nutrition in relation to stages of life.
Full text from 1999 on this site. See "Periodicals at KCC" on the library's home page for databases that contain full text prior to 1999.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition This link opens in a new window
Full text of the American Psychological Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM), Fifth Edition.
Gerontologist This link opens in a new window
Publication of the Gerontological Society of America that provides a multidisciplinary outlook on human aging. Full text archive available back to 1996.
Gerontology, The Journals of, Series A This link opens in a new window
Publication of the Gerontological Society of America covering biological and medical science with respect to human aging. Full text archive available back to 1996
JAMA This link opens in a new window
Journal of the American Medical Association from 1998 to present.
New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window
Foremost American medical journal. Full text coverage available from 1990 to present

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Entries from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works in all subjects. Preferred starting point for online research.

Student Resources: Subject Research Guides