Criminal Justice & Law Research

Email: reference.desk@kbcc.cuny.edu
Call: 718-368-5632
Come to the Reference Desk (main lobby on Library 2nd Floor)
Twitter: @KBCCLibrary
Look for other subject libguides at https://library.kbcc.cuny.edu/guides
Download: this guide as a PDF

Robert J. Kibbee Library
2001 Oriental Blvd.
Brooklyn, NY 11235
P: (718) 368-5632 F: (718) 368-5482

Recommended Reference Sources

The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice

Careers for the criminal justice major: A practical guide to course selection, descriptions of entry-level positions and best prospects for career development

The social history of crime and punishment in America : an encyclopedia

Essential Supreme Court decisions: Summaries of leading cases in U.S. constitutional law

Encyclopedia of Community Policing and Problem Solving

Browse the shelf

Library locations for books in:	Floor #
Criminal justice administration Look for Call #'s beginning with HV7231-9960	6th
United States Political Institutions Look for Call #'s beginning with JK1-9593	6th
Law of the U.S. Look for Call #'s beginning with KF1-9827	6th
State Law (New York) Look for Call #'s beginning with KFN5001-6199	6th
Reference Books The Reference section is in back of the Information Desk	2nd

Search for BOTH books and articles on OneSearch

Not familiar with OneSearch? Watch this video tutorial about how to do research using OneSearch.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals covering all academic areas of study. Recommended starting point for research in periodical literature in most fields of study.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Journal articles covering the causes, trends, and societal impacts of crime. Coverage back to 1981.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and periodicals covering criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
Legal Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of current issues, studies, and trends in the legal world. Topics include criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment.
Congress and the Nation This link opens in a new window
Congress and the Nation covers congressional trends, actions, and political and policy controversies. Access to vols XII and XIII only.
SocINDEX Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from journals, many going back as far as 1908. Includes a comprehensive coverage of sociology and all sub-disciplines and related areas of study such as abortion, criminal justice, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, substance abuse and other addictions, and violence.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals covering the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes letters, oral histories, government documents images and 3-D models. Features the Metropolitan Museum of Art Bulletin and the MoMa newsletter among others.
U.S. Department of Justice Statistics This link opens in a new window
This website from the U.S. Government has the goal of collecting and publishing information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Entries from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works in all subjects. Preferred starting point for online research.

Student Resources: Subject Research Guides