Skip to Main Content

ENG 24 (Prof. Kudic, Spring 2024)

What are Scholarly Articles?

Scholarly articles are:

  • Found in scholarly (also called academic) journals 

  • Authored by academics and researchers

  • Written for an audience of other scholars, researchers, and students

  • Written to advance scholarship and knowledge

  • Frequently reviewed by academics and scholars (“peer-reviewed”)

  • Include bibliographic references

Using Databases to Search for Articles

The most efficient way to search for academic journal articles is to search in scholarly databases which index numerous journals.

Below are suggested scholarly databases that you can use to search for articles for your research paper. There are also a few recommendations for education journals if you'd like to explore them.

Follow the links to the databases and then enter your search terms to search for articles. In many databases, you can also apply filters to limit your search, such as limiting to articles with full-text PDFs attached or to certain publication dates.

Recommended Databases for Starting Research

Here are a few of the best databases for searching for academic journal articles on a variety of subjects, including education and knowledge.

Education Databases

Here are a few recommended databases for researching topics related to education.

Journals on Education

You can also look for articles on this subject from particular journals. The list below represents just a few of the many journals available at the library.  Alternately, you can search for journals by title using OneSearch.