Kibbee Library: Prof. Renee Mizrahi Eng 24 Class: Databases

Accessing Online Sources

With the library closed for now, you will need to use many different online sources. For access to the electronic journals contained in Kingsborough's A-Z List of Databases, you must have an activated KBCC ID card. This card is your library card. If you do not have an activated card, please call us at (718) 368-5637 or (718) 368-5442. We can activate your card remotely and then you will be ready to dive into all of the sources available on our databases.

Research Process

Download Student Guide on Research

How to Devise a Search Strategy

Criminal Justice Databases

The videos above instruct you on how to get started on researching your topic, creating a search strategy using the words And, Or and Not, and using the right information. Kingsborough library has dozens of databases, including the several listed below that provide scholarly articles and other sources for your topic on animal extinction. Also below are websites for two organizations that offer statistical and other information on that subject in the US and around the world.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a searchable database of scholarly articles. Use it to find articles that are available through the Kingsborough library.
General Science Full Text
Full text back to 1995 and indexing back to 1984. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health and medicine, oceanography, physics, and zoology.
Environment Complete
U.S. and international publications going back to 1888 covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Environment and Climate Change in Global Issues in Context
International viewpoints for current issues in the news. Includes news articles, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Updated daily.
GreenFile
Scholarly, general interest titles, and government documents that focus on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Topics include global warming, recycling, alternate fuel sources, and more.
GREENR
Reference content in the area of the environment, energy and natural resources. Includes academic journal articles, news articles, and case studies.
World Wildlife Fund
An international fundraising organization that works in collaboration with existing conservation groups and brings financial support to the conservation movement on a worldwide scale.
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Endangered Species
The United States Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS or FWS) is an agency of the US federal government within the US Department of the Interior dedicated to the management of fish, wildlife, and natural habitats.