To search for books or e-books in the library catalog, type your search terms (or the title of the book, if you know it) in the OneSearch search box on the KCC Library web-site.
The KCC Library holds a significant number of nursing and health sciences e-books and books! Below is a very small selection of titles of interest. Titles that are hyperlinked are e-books. Titles with call numbers can be found in the library. Ask the Reference Librarian at the desk if you need assistance finding a book.
A Dictionary of Nursing by
The new edition of this bestselling and trusted dictionary has been fully revised to take account of recent developments in nursing practice and related fields. Updates to this edition cover many areas, with a particular focus on radiography, public health and the NHS, theoretical conceptsfamiliar in nursing education, and key vocabulary used in the 2018 Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) Standards of Proficiency for Registered Nurses.Written by medical and nursing specialists, and offering more than 10,500 clear and concise entries on nursing theory and practice, the dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. As well as nursing-specific terms, there are also manyentries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, ethics, psychiatry, nutrition, dentistry, statistics, and pharmacology. Almost 100 helpful illustrations and tables, and 16 appendices covering the calculation of drug dosages, religion and nursing practice, recommended alcohol intake, and muchmore, help to make this an essential reference tool for all nursing students and professionals.
Dictionary of nursing theory and research by
Designated a Doody's Core Title . Praise for the previous edition: . This reference is valuable to scholars at all levels of nursing and is especially useful to researchers. . . . With this volume at hand consumers of research and theory will learn more easily and quickly. Molly (Mickey) Dougherty, PhD, RN. Professor of Nursing, University of North Carolina. Editor, Nursing Research. What distinguishes this Dictionary from others are its attention to the diversity in inquiry and distinctively nursing 'takes' on key concepts in theory and research. This Dictionary will be a welcome addition to the libraries of both new and experienced researchers. Margarete Sandelowski. Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The fourth edition of this classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. It includes updates and new references for entries from the previous edition, and information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content that reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment is featured. This book remains an invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by
In the updated fourth edition of this award-winning title, more than 1, 230 alphabetically arranged entries, of which about 100 are new, cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. The Encyclopedia covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
Nursing Leadership by
A single comprehensive reference for nursing leaders, leadership organizations, nursing clinicians, and educators, Nursing Leadership is the only compendium of nursing terminology in existence. Written by eminent nursing professionals, it provides descriptions of prominent individuals in nursing, information regarding nine leadership-related topics, and current trends in nurse leadership. This second edition has been expanded to encompass 80 new entries and revisions or updates to all original entries. It provides an extensive overview of current leadership issues including theories, characteristics, and skills required of nurse leaders in today's complex health care system. Highly respected contributors include Claire Fagan, Beverly Malone (NLN CEO), Polly Bednash (AACN CEO), Patricia Benner, and many others. For ease of use this new edition contains both alphabetic and thematic indexes, extensive cross-referencing, and print and web references for each entry. The new edition features: Thematic list of entries in addition to alphabetic index An extensive overview on salient nursing leadership issues, themes, characteristics, and current and future developments A "legacies" section on nursing luminaries throughout history Over 80 new entries and updates and revisions of original entries Extensive cross-referencing and print and web resources for each entry
Critical Care Nursing by
Get a firm understanding and mastery of the unique issues and procedures involved in critical care nursing with Critical Care Nursing: Diagnosis and Management, 8th Edition. Praised for its comprehensive coverage and clear organization, this market-leading text offers a great foundation in the realities and challenges of today's critical care unit that's perfect for both nursing students and practicing nurses alike. This new edition also features enhanced integration of QSEN and interprofessional collaborative practice, plus expanded coverage of leadership, post-ICU outcomes and highly contagious infections. Revamped case studies, Patient Teaching boxes, Evidence-Based Practice boxes, Patient Safety Alerts, and other learning tools further develop your critical thinking skills and prepare you for success in high-acuity, progressive, and critical care settings. UNIQUE! Nursing management plans of care feature approximately 35 NANDA-I nursing diagnoses to provide a detailed, ready-to-use, clinically current reference for safe, effective patient care. Consistent organization within each body-system unit provides a systematic framework for learning and for CCRN and PCCN certification preparation. It also serves as a great reference for clinical practice. Pharmacologic Management tables offer quick summaries of the drugs most often used in critical care. NEW! Enhanced QSEN integration makes it easier to link text content to the various QSEN competencies through the addition of QSEN-related questions in case studies, retitled features and boxes, QSEN content icons, and highlighted QSEN information throughout. UNIQUE! Integration of interprofessional collaborative practice incorporates the various IPEC competencies - such as Values & Ethics for Interprofessional Practice, Roles & Responsibilities, Interprofessional Communication, and Teams & Teamwork - into the text content and case studies. NEW! Enhanced focus on core content directs readers' attention to routine adult critical care situations and minimizes the attention given to issues treated by specialized facilities. NEW! Revamped case studies feature updated scenarios and information to reflect the current "flavor" of high-acuity, progressive, and critical care settings - with patients being seen in a variety of settings. These scenarios help readers "scaffold" learning and apply chapter content to true-to-life clinical situations. NEW! Content on post-ICU outcomes has been added to chapters on therapeutic management and disorders to provide readers with a more holistic perspective on the critical care patient experience. NEW! Expanded leadership content places a fresh focus on the emerging importance of nursing leadership to ensure optimal patient outcomes. NEW! Added content on highly contagious infections has been incorporated into the chapter on sepsis to keep readers abreast of this ever-changing area of interest. NEW! Links to 15 sample skills from Elsevier Clinical Skills give readers a foundation in mastering critical care skills. NEW! Enhanced Patient Teaching boxes feature more specific and practical content for at-the-bedside patient care. NEW! Additional animations have been added to the Evolve companion website. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects changes in nursing, medical, and collaborative care of patients in high-acuity, progressive, and critical care settings.
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by
#1 DRUG BOOK for Nursing Students! "This is the perfect drug book for nursing school! All the information on the meds is in-depth and all that you need to know."--Abby W. SAFETY FIRST! Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Seventeenth Edition delivers all the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs. FREE DIGITAL ACCESS Redeem the access code to unlock your one-year, free subscription to DrugGuide.com, Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine. You'll have access to more than 1,700 monographs from your desktop, laptop, or any mobile device with a web browser. Search the complete 5,000-drug database and appendices quickly and efficiently. Build your knowledge with extensively cross-referenced drugs. Keep up to date with FDA drug news. LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE .. AT A GLANCE New! The AGS Beers Criteria for Potentially Inappropriate Medication Use in Older Adults #1 Drug Guide for patient safety Red tab for high alert medications, plus in-depth high alert and patient safety coverage Red, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon Drug-drug, drug-food, drug-natural product interactions Special considerations for patient populations. Geri heading identifies special concerns for older adults. OB and Lact headings highlight information for pregnant and breastfeeding patients. Pedi heading identifies concerns for children. Rep heading identifies considerations for patients of reproductive age. IV Administration subheads Pharmacogenomic content Canadian-specific content In-depth guidance for patient and family teaching FREE LEARNING, CARE PLANNING, AND PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Online at FADavis.com Audio Library of 1,200+ drug names help you pronounce important terms Two tutorials, each with a self-test Preventing Medication Errors Psychotropic Drugs Easy-to-Use Calculators Body mass index (BMI) Metric conversions IV drip rates Dosage/KG Fahrenheit/Celsius Interactive Case Studies - brief, real-life scenarios that are followed by a series of questions Audio podcasts delivering information on... Risk Evaluation Mitigation Systems (REMS) How to use Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses® Detecting and managing ADRs Evidence-based practice and Pharmacotherapeutics Pharmacogenomics Medication errors Special dosing considerations Educating patients about Safe Medication Use Video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications ONLINE REVIEWS OF THE 16TH EDITION OF DAVIS'S DRUG GUIDE FOR NURSES Five Stars. "I LOVE that this includes nursing interventions, patient teaching and an online access code. Highly recommend."--E.G. Accurate and up to date. "Top notch for nursing students! Includes many things other drug guides.
Mosby's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis by
Portable and easy-to-use, Mosby's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis, 6th Edition is ideal for use in clinicals, in class, and at the bedside! This pocket-sized reference book is a condensed version Ackley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, 12th Edition that helps you diagnose and formulate care plans with confidence and ease. Using a quick-access format, it includes the 2018-20 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses based on more than 1,300 specific symptoms and a step-by-step guide to creating care plans, featuring desired outcomes, interventions, and patient teaching. Plus, alphabetic thumb tabs allow for quick and easy access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. UNIQUE! Includes care plans for every NANDA-I approved nursing diagnosis, including pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning interventions. Alphabetical thumb tabs provides your students with quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. Pocketsize portability makes this book easy to carry and use in clinicals, in class, or at the bedside. Nursing Diagnoses Index on the inside front and back cover. NEW! UNIQUE! 2018-2020 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses complete with 16 new diagnoses.
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing by
Second Edition Designated a Doody's Core Title This is a concise, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the fundamentals of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information. The third edition is updated to deliver the most current information on research methods, database upgrades, and new resources. The reference serves as a succinct companion for students in EBP courses and provides practicing nurses with a resource for developing EBP on their units. It equips bedside nurses with fundamental concepts and explains basic research terms and how to conduct literature searches to "find the evidence." The third edition continues to deliver the most practical information on EBP, including how to get the best evidence quickly, using various databases, and coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and abundant examples demonstrate concepts. This classroom-tested book also provides background information on defining the "compelling question," which is essential to finding the appropriate evidence-based material. New to the Third Edition: Updated with current information on research methods and new resources"Finding the Evidence" chapter completely updated with the latest databases and search enginesIncludes two new chapters, "The Iowa Model of Evidence-Based Practice to Promote Quality Care" and "Evidence-Based Practice in the Nurse Residency Program"Aligns with projects that are required by many undergraduate programs and residency/internship programs for new nursesIncorporates the Iowa Model of EBP into developing the project format Key Features: Provides step-by-step methods to implement evidence-based practiceIncludes examples of how hospitals and healthcare providers are integrating EBP into their practiceIncludes extensive coverage of how EBP can be used to improve patient care, with examples and cases to show readers practical application of contentReviews basic terms and principlesPresents quantitative and qualitative research approachesHas been classroom tested and used in both live and online course formats
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare by
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare: A Guide to Best Practice, 4th Edition Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, PhD, RN, APRN-CNP, FAANP, FNAP, FAAN and Ellen Fineout-Overholt, PhD, RN, FNAP, FAAN Enhance your clinical decision-making capabilities and improve patient outcomes through evidence-based practice. Develop the skills and knowledge you need to make evidence-based practice (EBP) an integral part of your clinical decision-making and everyday nursing practice with this proven, approachable text. Written in a straightforward, conversational style, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare delivers real-world examples and meaningful strategies in every chapter to help you confidently meet today's clinical challenges and ensure positive patient outcomes. NEW! Making Connections: An EBP Exemplar opens each unit, immersing you in an unfolding case study of EBP in real-life practice. NEW! Chapters reflect the most current implications of EBP on health policy and the context, content, and outcomes of implementing EBP competencies in clinical and academic settings. NEW! Learning objectives and EBP Terms to Learn at both the unit and chapter levels help you study efficiently and stay focused on essential concepts and vocabulary. Making EBP Real features continue to end each unit with real-world examples that demonstrate the principles of EBP applied. EBP Fast Facts reinforce key points at a glance. Clinical Scenarios clarify the EBP process and enhance your rapid appraisal capabilities.
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, Fourth Edition by
The goal of EBP in healthcare is to promote improved interventions, care, and patient outcomes.Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals has proven to be one of the most foundational books on EBP in nursing and healthcare. Building on the strength of previous versions, the fourth edition is fully revised to include updated content based on more than a decade of the model's use, refinement in real-life settings, and feedback from nurses and other healthcare professionals around the world.Key features of the book include:* NEW strategies for dissemination, including guidance on submitting manuscripts for publication* EXPANDED focus on the importance of interprofessional collaboration and teamwork, particularly when addressing the complex care issues often tackled by EBP teams* EXPANDED synthesis and translation steps, including an expanded list of outcome measures to determine the success of an EBP project* Tools to guide the EBP process, such as stakeholder analysis, action planning, and dissemination* Explanation of the practice question, evidence, and translation (PET) approach to EBP projects* Overview of the patient, intervention, comparison, and outcome (PICO) approach to EBP question development* Creation of a supportive infrastructure for building an EBP nursing environment* Exemplars detailing real-world EBP experiences