Kibbee Library: Free Summer Reading, Watching, Listening: Art, Ebooks, Anime

Free Art Musuems

El Museo del Barrio (Free admission to CUNY students, faculty, and staff!)
Explore nearly 100 works from the museum’s permanent collection through the Bloomberg Connects App or view online exhibition catalogues from the last 50 years in the museum’s archives.
Frick Museum (Free admission to CUNY students, faculty, and staff!)
Short talks by curators on great masterpieces in their collection.
J. Paul Getty Museum Online Exhibits and 360 views of collections
Explore paintings, sculpture and architecture online and in virtual reality.
Museum of the City of New York (Free admission to CUNY students, faculty, and staff!)
Explore New York’s past through over 250,000 objects from the museum’s collection. Or use Bloomberg Connects to explore the museum from anywhere!
Museum of Modern Art (MOMA) Online Courses (Free admission for CUNY students, faculty, and staff until September 2022)
Immerse yourself in ideas and see your world in new ways through art in MoMA’s free Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) on Coursera. Also check out MoMA on YouTube.
Whitney Museum of Art (Free admission to CUNY students, faculty, and staff!)
Limited number of online exhibitions are available.

Ebooks & Anime

E-Books from the Kingsborough Library (Log in with your CUNY credentials when prompted)
Search CUNY’s hundreds of thousands ebooks
Archive of Our Own (AO3)
A nonprofit open source repository for fanfiction and other fanworks contributed by users. Archive of Our Own hosts over 6 million works in over 40,000 fandoms.
Brooklyn Public Library (BPL)
Access to thousands of ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, movies, and more! Get a library card!
Crunchyroll
Massive streaming library of anime. The site is free but a premium subscription lets you watch without the ads.
HathiTrust
Partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. To access their archives, log in as a Guest.
New York Public Library (NYPL)
Download the Simply-E or Libby app to access millions of audiobooks and e-books in all genres. Get a library card!
Open Library from Internet Archive
An open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published.
Project Gutenberg
Over 60,000 out of copyright books.
Queens Public Library (QPL)
Access to thousands of ebooks, audiobooks, magazines, movies, and more! Get a library card!
Shonen Jump
Many popular manga titles, with a strong back catalog and new chapters the same day as Japan.
Viki.com
Asian TV shows and movies online for free. Premium access provides access to additional content and removes ads.
Webtoons
Contains thousands of creator-owned content in many genres from around the world.